magnifying-glass menu


Percussive explorations of sound, space, and movement

by WHACKollective

Experimental percussion group WHACKollective presents “islands”, a musical journey through geographic and conceptual space. In a new work devised by composer-linguist K. Travers Eira, our four musicians inhabit and perform in different, musical ‘islands’. Within these contrasting percussive sound worlds, each player explores their physical and timbral environment, finding connections to another’s territory, and enabling movement between them. Original compositions by members of WHACKollective complement Travers’s work. These include a musical setting of Chairil Anwar’s poetry, a ritualistic meditation on recycling, and a new installation work, all engaging with processes of social and ecological change.

photo by Fiona Nicholson

Supported By